Anniversary Week Part 4- Black Sabbath: Seventh Star (Review)

Anniversary week day four, and we’re finally getting into the interesting stuff. Seventh Star is hardly the definitive Black Sabbath album, and it’s certainly not got the best cover art I’ve seen (Born Again’s would even trump it), but I love it. You can’t say I didn’t warn you about my tastes when the banner has Seventh Star and Virtual XI on it.

But to the album. It commences with the solid metal chugging of “In For the Kill”. The guitar work is both heavy and dynamic, not sluggish in any way, and perfectly backs Glenn Hughes’ powerful vocals. And Glenn’s voice has just a touch of rasp to add character to his range. How could anyone not like this? Is it because of the next song? “No Stranger to Love” may be a ballad, but it’s also a ballad that I like very much. Why this one? Dunno really. It’s probably Glenn Hughes’ versatility. The guy can croon and belt with equal talent, sometimes in the very same song. I even prefer the single mix of this song. It just sounds empty here without the backing vocals. I mean, what sort of person would ask for female-esque backing vocals on a Black Sabbath song? Me apparently.

And then it’s back to the metal, though with a little more of a riff this time. The highlight of the song though, is easily Glenn Hughes’ powerful delivery to send off the chorus with a long, loud ’STTTTOOOOOOOONNNNNNEEEEE!!!!!”. “Sphinx, The Guardian” is next. It’s a nice little atmospheric break that leads into “Seventh Star”, and hearkens back to the varied experimentation of earlier Sabbath albums. And then it’s the title track, the monolithic “Seventh Star”. One of my favorite Sabbath epics, some may say the riff is a little dull, but I say that it’s metronomic preciseness adds to the sense of inevitability the song exudes. You will enjoy this song, it’s only a matter of time. The song benefits from that style of production far more than the entire Heaven and Hell album did, and the way the keyboards kick in at 1:42 (as well as other places on the song) just kicks the epicness into overdrive and is one of my favorite moments on the whole disc.

And then it’s back to uptempo 80’s metal. Iommi, Hughes, Spitz, Singer and Nicholls doing what they do best, slick dual guitar riffing permeates the entire song while Hughes continues to belt without problem One of my favorite songs on the disc. But of course, most albums are not perfect. In the case of Seventh Star its flaw is the next song, “Heart Like a Wheel”. The song should have been cut. It’s a long, slow, boring bluesy one and I can’t believe that it was the only song from the album ever played after the Seventh Star tour.

But we’re back to the awesome after that. “Angry Heart” goes for a more midtempo speed and works well as it lets the keyboards better accentuate the riff. I’m a sucker for keyboards, as you know. Sure it’s a slower song, but Glenn Hughes has no problem belting things out at this speed either. He’s such a great singer, and certainly doesn’t have a word for ‘half-assed’ in his vocabulary.

And, lastly, we end with the acoustic “In Memory”. It may be a softer one, but it still fits in with the album, and doesn’t overstay it’s welcome. Hughes croons for the mot part, but still manages to sneak some power into the chorus. He’s just the gift that keeps on giving. I just have one question. When he sings the line ‘it still haunts me’, is that a little jab from Iommi at the Sabbath name and legacy (made all the more relevant by the fact that this was going to be a solo album before the label slapped the Sabbath name on it)? Either way, I’m glad it was a Sabbath album, or else we wouldn’t have got the awesome shows from the Seventh Star tour, or the great Tony Martin era of the band.

Seventh Star is easily my favorite album with Glenn Hughes on vocals. Heck, it’s my second favorite Sabbath album at that. And you know, for an album from 1986, it really is quite timeless sounding. There really isn’t any obtuse synth to date it. An absolute ripper of an album.

The verdict- 4.5/5

And if you thought that was contrarian, you ain’t seen nothing yet.

45 thoughts on “Anniversary Week Part 4- Black Sabbath: Seventh Star (Review)

  1. Honestly the album cover is stupid (Iommi solo or Sabbath album). The ballads are what’s holding me back from checking out this album as I don’t want to hear ballads from Sabbath. I listened to Technical Ecstasy a couple of weeks ago, and when “It’s Alright” came on, I hated it.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok, that’s enough for me to check him out. I watched Sea of Tranquility do a history on Black Sabbath, and they talked about someone losing his voice overtime and how he doesn’t sound like he did on the records. Can’t remember if it was Glenn, Ian, or Tony they were talking about.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow, you’ve got them all done already? I’m interested in the reasoning why you do 10 at a time. I guess you avoid the conundrum i have of having to come up with a new song every sunday.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, they are all written and I have a Top 5 My Sunday Songs to celebrate 250 My Sunday Song posts. And as far as the 10 rule, it keeps things simple and I can change things up more frequently. I don’t know who is going to be the next band after INXS. But I have time to think about it.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Frequently? I thought it was really long and inflexible. But if you’re at 250 then it must work, so continue on. I generally don’t schedule much in advance (just stuff like anniversary week) because you lose the magic of writing something, being proud of it, and seeing it go up a day or two later while you’re still on that high.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. It works for me. It is like a Top 10 list basically. I get your point on the scheduling ahead because I am about 7-8 weeks worth of stuff already written. I have to or I feel too much pressure. I can skip a week and it won’t stress me out. And I have to agree about the comment of wanting it out there as soon as you write it. I do struggle with that sometimes.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Holy cow. That’s a lot. But as long as you’re happy and stress free then it’s good. Well that means you’ve written up all the Priest stuff, so you should be well-informed come May.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I am actually only on British Steel. I do Queen one week and Priest the next as I am doing Kiss every week to finish that one up which still has 10 more to write. But by May, I will be about 4+ more albums deeper. And I can at least listen to the rest prior.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. But do you feel pressure in having to be so far ahead just so you can avoid the pressure of having to write in a rush? Pressure to avoid pressure?

        It should also be noted that the time and care you take leads to far superior pieces of work, especially when compared to my ‘jibbering monkey with a typewriter throwing shite at the walls and seeing what sticks’ approach. So it’s worth it for us, the Readers, in the end, and we thank you.

        But still, man, 7-8 weeks! Unreal.

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Yes, I guess I do, but if I am not in the mood to write one weekend, it doesn’t bother me to skip. I think I would really feel it if I was writing as I go. That to me is more pressure than trying to keep say 40 post written at all times.

        And thanks. I don’t think I put any more time in it, but it does allow me to walk away from it and then look at it the week of release and make some tweaks.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. I wish I had that kind of discipline. I’m listening to an album in the days before, if not the day before, and then often writing it up that morning bfore posting. And you can tell, because it’s mostly just “Wahoo!” and “you’re gonna love this!” and other such general blatherings. Been at this 15 years and that’s still all I’ve got lol. You guys are all better writers, and I think you’ve just shown me why. Time and care, not seat of the pants!

        Liked by 2 people

      10. I like your posts. There is nothing wrong with what you do. I’ve enjoyed your site for years now and I love see all the eclectic CDs you have. Some really interesting stuff. And we know it is all great music since you only buy the good stuff.

        Liked by 1 person

      11. Oh man, I wasn’t fishing, I was complimenting you! LOL Well thanks, I’m glad you like ’em, I really do just slap ’em together in the moment and hit Post. Same day. As for eclectic, I often wish I liked mostly just one genre, you know, it’d make it easier to shop. I go into a shoppe and I want them all! As for just buying good stuff, well, let’s say I only keep the good stuff, and I am lucky more often than not just for having bought albums for 35 years – I’m pretty sure before I pull the trigger…

        Like

      1. I had no idea it had become hard to find. I’ll put it on the Grail List today! I can hook you up with 320 MP3s if you want, just shoot me an email at keepsmealive at gmail dot com.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah, I never thought this one was as bad as people say. Especially considering how it was supposed to be a solo project. I wouldn’t give it a 4.5 as I do find it drags a bit. Maybe a solid 3. I will push back on it sounding timeless though. Some of it like the synth on the 2nd song and the guitar on Danger Zone, very ’80s.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started